How Afghanistan shaped my feminism

Muslims Against Sharia Blog

Not my own feminism, of course, I’m male and can have no conception of the way women have been mistreated in patriarchal societies. This piece is by Phyllis Chesler, who spent some time in Afghanistan in the 1960s. The article begins:
“On December 21, 1961, when I returned from Afghanistan, I kissed the ground at New York City’s Idlewild Airport. I weighed 90 pounds and had hepatitis. Although I would soon become active in the American civil rights, anti-Vietnam war, and feminist movements, what I had learned in Kabul rendered me immune to the Third World romanticism that infected so many American radicals. As a young bride in Afghanistan, I was an eyewitness to just how badly women are treated in the Muslim world. I was mistreated, too, but I survived. My “Western” feminism was forged in that most beautiful and treacherous of countries …”
Everyone, male and female, should read this.

Powered by ScribeFire.

One Response

  1. I found your blog on MSN Search. Nice writing. I will check back to read more.

    Eric Hundin

Comments are closed.

